A Tenuous Thread

I originally posted this in October when my nephew was involved in an accident that left him with severe enough injuries to warrant brain surgery. He is fine now but for a time he was knocking on heavens door. I would like to post this for little Anthony. For we are ALL children of the Lord.

 

Are you familiar with the three maidens in mythology that control the thread of life ? One maiden spins the thread. Another determines the quality and the third determines the length and cuts the thread. I am not sure but I wonder if the phrase ” hanging on by a thread ” comes from this fable? That phrase could have been applied to many situations in the past four days .

At 5 p.m. Thursday I got a call from my brother who was vacationing in Maine celebrating his birthday and his wedding anniversary with his wife of thirty years. This was one of “those” calls that you remember for the rest of your life. His seventeen year old son had been involved in a serious auto accident and had been taken to a hospital in Atlanta via helicopter. He could reach no one else in the family and could I go until they could get there from Maine. By 7 p.m. myself , my two sisters , and my brother-in -law were in the ICU waiting room.

I am not going to try to tell you what transpired over the next four days. I haven’t processed it all yet. There will be a time for those stories. What I am going to tell you is my nephew suffered serious head and neck injuries but seems to be doing well now. I am going to tell you I saw my family function highly and make decisions , hanging on by a thread , with only five hours sleep in four days . I saw a very capable surgeon hanging on by a thread after forty-eight hours tell us that he was going to get a little sleep before he performed the surgery that would save my nephews life.I saw my brother hanging on by a thread go through a transformation and turn all control over to God.

But I never saw his son , my nephew , hanging on by a thread. I saw him cradled in the arms of God. I don’t know those maidens.They don’t know me. But I do know Jesus Christ and he does know me. I know that I can talk to Him and He will listen. I know that whatever happens I have no control. I know that everything that could be done for my nephew has been done and that prayer is the prescription. Thank you to all those that prayed with us and for my brothers son.

This entry was posted in life, religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Tenuous Thread

  1. Marie Taylor says:

    you are a wonderful story teller.

  2. terry1954 says:

    what a beautiful story of God at work………………..thank u for sharing with me

  3. prayers continue for all for that is the only answer. Just remember out of the darkness comes the strength. Is 45:3 and I will give thee the treasures of darkness….

  4. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any methods to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  5. kim sargent says:

    This is amazing…God is using you n such an amazing way! I can’t wait to read the next one! Publish n get all your rights! Of course God has got you here…He has it all worked out! I’m so proud…you really did find Jesus! You went thru the fire all to touch others in just this special way!!❤

  6. You are just to sweet! I am proud of you also, Kim. Not many people have gone down the path that we have and returned. Yet, you did and you came back even stronger.

Leave a Reply

