Tranquility

Where I must go I must go alone

It is a world away yet I never leave home

I wish you could come so you could see what I see

The forest and the lake I call Tranquility

I close my eyes  and open my minds door

And find myself in the same place as before

The forest is green and yellow and gold

It smells fresh with life , it smells musty and old

The sun comes in rays filtered by the leaves

That whisper silly secrets as they dance on the breeze

I climb down the rocks to the grass covered banks

I raise my eyes and quietly give thanks

I go to the rock where I perched before

and look across the lake to the opposite shore

I see several deer standing and watching me

There is no fear at Lake Tranquility

The hawk sores above and I am here stuck below

I can here his cry as the wind begins to blow

The toads begin to croak as the sun goes down

So I stand , breathe deeply and turn around

Back through the forest lit now only by the moon

I open my eyes and I’m alone in my room

This entry was posted in life, poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tranquility

  1. terry1954 says:

    I swear our spirits have bonded somewhere through the past. I loved this, absolutely loved and felt it

  2. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Marie Taylor says:

    Lovely experience. Marie

  4. sandrabranum says:

    Tranquility and serenity — two things we search for and may never find. This is such a beautiful poem.

Leave a Reply

