Treys Song

In 1989 my wife disappeared with my child. He was nine months old at the time. The next time I saw him he was eighteen months old. A toddler with a vocabulary. I would not have known him if I had passed him in the store. My mother in law told me during this time that I needed to move on because I would never see him again. At the time there was no such thing as parental kidnapping so law enforcement would not help me. This event changed my life and my personality forever. I wrote this song during that time but it has never been put down on paper.

TREYS SONG

Some say there’s a heaven

But I know there’s a hell

And if die in my sleep

I’m thinkin’ that it’s just as well

The only thing worse

Than being dead and gone

Is to crawl through on more day

Without you son

I don’t really know

Where this all began

And I know I’ll never know

Why your momma really ran

She said I’m crazy

I never said that wasn’t true

but what the hell does that have to do

With me and you?

Some say there’s a heaven

But I know there’s a hell

And if I die sometime tonight

I’m thinkin’ baby that’s just as well

For the only thing worse than being dead and gone

Is to crawl through one more day

Without you son

When a man lost his soul

There’s nothin’ left to save

I feel so cold

Lay me in my grave

But don’t put me

In no Rose Hill

It’s one the riverside

I want to lie or maybe

In an open field

I don’t want no tombstone

Planted on my head

On top of me grow a big oak tree

That’s what I really want instead

And on Fathers day

my boy can play all over me

And if that’s the only way

Hell take me today

God won’t you let it be

Some say there’s a heaven

But I can walk you through hell

And if I die sometime tonight I’m thinki’n

Baby maybe just as well

For the only thing worse

Than being dust and bones

Is to crawl through

One more day without you son

I want a big oak tree

Growin’ out my chest

On Fathers Day in the shade

My boy can rest

Lay me down

Lay me low

I’m so cold

This entry was posted in life, music, poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Treys Song

  1. terry1954 says:

    that is so sad. My heart goes out to you. Did you ever end up with a relationship with your son?

    • Terry seven years to the day I gained custody of Trey and raised him on my own. He is a fine young man living in California. I’m going out there to visit at the end of April. We speak via email everyday.

  2. I’m so glad you were reunited with your son. It is a terrible thing when people use children as weapons in fights against their ex!

  3. Teeny Bikini says:

    My goodness, my heart goes out to you. I am glad you have him back…

  4. Debbie says:

    I am so blessed to hear your story, of how it turned out. Praying it gives others hope, when things look the worst. Thank you and God bless you and Trey!

  5. what an amazing story so glad for you that it worked out the way it did. I love the song is there a tune to the lyric?

  6. wow what an incredible and sad song. i’m so very sorry your son was taken.

  7. A very sad, but wonderfully written song.
    I’m definitely glad you were able to reunite with Trey, but gutted that you had to experience the loss of him, and particularly in such a way, to not know why 😦

Leave a Reply

