Unbroken

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Now forget the song, and turn that line into the title or inspiration for your post.

http://youtu.be/9OwSag4s-QU

O.K. here I go again turning to WP for inspiration to write. The last time I did this a tragedy occurred. I pray this time that doesn’t happen. The song I chose to pull a line from is Gregg Allman’s rendition of Will The Circle Be Unbroken. I can not pick a line out of this song that means any more or less than the others.

I picked this version of the song for a couple reasons. One is that these are hometown boys. The other is that Gregg Allman has experienced the loss and you can feel that in his vocals. That is Gregg and his brother Duane (sitting on the left) on bus in the earlier days. Duane died here in Macon ,Ga in the early seventies not far from where I am writing this. This song was sung by Gregg at his funeral. He is buried here in Rose Hill Cemetery.

As many of you know my father left us and his Parkinson’s riddled body behind and  entered into the kingdom of heaven to experience the Glory of God this past January. In the first verse when he is standing looking out the window reminds me of our wait for the funeral home. This was a glorious event for my father but we felt grief and loss nonetheless. I could not let the funeral home handle my fathers body. I picked him up from his bed and carried him through the house and laid him on the gurney outside. I then led the gurney down the ramp and put Daddy in the vehicle. “For that body you are hauling , how I hate to see him go.”

This entry was posted in death and dying, end of life care giving, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Unbroken

  1. terry1954 says:

    that just ripped my heart wide open. I think not really of my brother for this but my father. I cared for him for a year and then he died in my arms………I love the song also. This post touched me deep in my soul

  2. Terry my father died holding my hand. The thing that sticks with me though is as his care giver I had to make the decision that it was time to let him go.

  3. Marie Taylor says:

    Made me hungry for my hippie days. Went to You tube to listen to some more. Thanks. Marie

  4. My heart goes out to you. I held my grandmother in my arms as she died. At the time she was the only one that cared about me, it devastated me and yet I’m glad that I could do that for her at the time.

  5. You are a man of extraordinary sensitivities! Remember, YOU are the daddy, now! I do not know how many will look to you, but you sound ready! Peace be unto you!

Leave a Reply

