Both Sides

” What a great weekend this will be!I get to see my family on both sides!” This is a statement my mother made Saturday evening on our way back from the 90th birthday of her brother-in-law. He was married to one of Moms sisters and has been a cherished member of the family for longer than I have been alive.

Mom had a wonderful time there visiting with her family of nieces and nephews.As I have said before Mom was one of seven girls and one boy born into a strong Southern Baptist family. Seeing her nieces and nephews is as close to seeing her sisters as she can get. That was Saturday.

Sunday morning at about five in the morning I heard her call my name. She was sitting on the side of her bed gasping for breath. “This is bad one…” she struggled to speak. Mom has C.O.P.D and asthma as well as congestive heart failure.

We have gone through this several times in the past year resulting in an ambulance and hospitalization three of those times. Mom has told us all she was not going back to the hospital.

We have put into place several procedures so that I could deal with this situation at home. Ambu bag and an epi-pen. I’m not going to go into detail about what happened in that room Sunday morning because that is very personal….something that was shared only between mother and son.

But I will say this. When I tried everything and nothing worked I told my mom I was calling 911. She emphatically said NO. So I leaned her up against my chest and put my arms around her and said, “OK, we’ll go through this together Mom. She went limp in my arms and I laid her back on the bed. Then I put my head on her chest and prayed out loud.

My sister arrived shortly. Then the coroner and the funeral home and like my father I picked her up and carried her to the gurney.

We buried her today next to my father who we buried this past January. It was a glorious service that had loud gospel singing led by her family that she cherished so much. 

She was absolutely right Sunday. It was a glorious weekend for her. She got to see her family on both sides.

This entry was posted in end of life care giving. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Both Sides

  1. How difficult for you! My sincere condolences.

  2. I’m terribly sorry for you loss.

  3. Terry says:

    that jerked my heart and pulled on my tears. it is sad and yet glorious that she is now with both sides of her family. my heart goes out to you my friend

  4. sally1137 says:

    God Bless you. And your momma. She and your father are looking down on you and andmiring their fine son.

  5. Marie Taylor says:

    You are very blessed that both parents trusted you enough to die in your arms. What a wonderful ending to their lives. Although you may feel sad, I’m sure there is some happiness in knowing they are together now.

  6. Brother, you are in our prayers!!! I know you hear this a lot, but I truly mean it when I say, let me know if there is anything I can do. Be blessed and strong brother.

  7. My prayers are with you, brother! May the power of the Holy Spirit comfort you even closer than ever before. I lost my mom some years back and it still hurts, but God makes it bearable. Peace be unto you and your family.

  8. Angie Earley Newton says:

    BEAUTIFUL. BUT, YOU MADE ME CRY. I WILL FOREVER REGRET NOT BEING TO BE AT THE BIRTHDAY PARTY/REUNION. I LOVE HER AND YOU ALL SO MUCH. IT IS LIKE LOOSING MY MOM AGAIN.
    Your cousin,
    Angie

  9. e1aine says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I’ll be thinking of you as you go through this difficult time. (And I shall buy my Mum some flowers, this was a timely reminder to be thankful).

  10. Zen Doe says:

    A long, sweet hug to you, Eddie. I’m so sad for you and with you. Such incredible courage she had, and what enormous love and courage you have. You will be in my prayers today, again and again. In a tiny way, I’ll be walking through these next few days with you.
    I’m a gospel singer myself, and so is my son. When someone we love leaves this earth, we always sing them home. We will sing for your mama. Love, ZD

  11. My sympathy at the loss of your mom, and my deep appreciation for the way you shared your story.

  12. Eddie I am so sorry although those words or any words right now can not be of much comfort to you. I can only say how sorry I am for the grief and loss you feel yet I know Gods love and arms will sustain you. You are blessed and full of His grace and the Holy Spirit you will get through this…not easily but you will get through until you too are meeting both siides. God bless and keep you safe my friend.

  13. You are so blessed to have had such time with both your parents, to be their support and care giver in life and support in their passing. These are treasured moments and memories you will have forever. They deserved the best and they received it with you. when you can get away, come visit. we are here, love you cuz,

  14. sandrabranum says:

    What a beautiful heartfelt story of faith, love and trust. We mothers know when we are fortunate to have wonderful sons and I’m sure your mother knew she was also one of the lucky ones. Peace, Sandra

  15. Judy Kitchens says:

    You told the story beautifully. It’s sad to think that all the “Marshall Girls” are gone but it brings a giggle to my heart to think of them all together in heaven. Sorry I missed the home going celebration.

  16. regina says:

    Tears.**

Leave a Reply

