Lift Your Eyes

It has been awhile since I have either had the ability or the inclination to write. I have been in the mountains for some time and presently I do not have internet access there…or television…or newspapers. Once I move there permanently I will have those things but in the transitional period I do not.

I wish I could make you feel the emotions I feel when in the mountains. Not only after I get there but simply on the drive. The contrast between the metropolis of Atlanta and the pastures and hills of the Blue Ridge mountains is a tremendous change in only thirty minutes.

The first thing you notice is the change of the air. I like to ride with my windows down so I can not only feel the wind but in the mountains I can taste the air. It is a sweet taste to me. Not to say that you can’t taste the air in cities, you most certainly can, it just isn’t as palatable.

I didn’t realize what a detrimental effect living in this house where both of my parents died in my arms has had on my psyche until I approached the mountains. I realize now I have spent most of my time there literally looking down. I could not fill my lungs up with air no matter how bad I wanted to.

Yet as I was approaching Jasper Georgia my eyes caught the bottom of the mountains. It was like looking at the feet of Jesus. I had to look up. As I did my head lifted and my lips parted and I could feel my entire BODY smiling! Muscles relaxed as my lungs filled with the sweet mountain air like a man who has been underwater to long. The different hues of blue and violet that the mountains get their name for rolled on and on like the swells of a serpents back in the sea.

I see no end to the work that has to be done here in Macon. It is simply overwhelming to me. But I have made a vow to myself that this will be my last trip to this house. I will finish what has to be done here once and for all and will return to the mountains and claim them as my home…soon.

This entry was posted in family, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lift Your Eyes

  1. e1aine says:

    Oh wow. I wish I could visit.

  2. I’m with you, How i love the mountains! i lived in British Columbia for two years and I spent at least three days a week hiking in them. Now we live in the flat lands and I hate it. There’s something supernatural about the mountains and nature. I hope you’re home soon.

  3. sandrabranum says:

    I am glad things are getting better for you.. Sounds like you have finally found your sanctuary. You’ve paid your dues; so enjoy your new home.

  4. I send my comfort at the loss of both parents. & admiration of what loving care you gave so generously. I send my joy that are able to make your home in the blessedness of the care and protection of the mountains. God Bless.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.