Giving Thanks

The season is upon us. It is hard to believe that we will soon be closing out this year. A year that has, on the surface, brought death, pain, and grief. A year that I will be glad to see close. So I sit and I try to find something…anything, to be thankful for and what I come up with is this.

My father died January 5 in my arms. I witnessed a five year old child being mauled nearly to death by a pit bulldog in March. My mother died May 26 in my arms. So how can anyone expect me to be thankful for anything?

I went back and reread some of the post I have made since beginning this blog in October of 2012 and I have come up with this revision of the past year.

I am thankful that my nephew has made a complete recovery from his near fatal automobile accident in October of last year. An accident that required brain surgery to save his life. He is now enjoying his freshman year at the University of Georgia and has no visible side effects from the surgery or the accident.

I am thankful that my father is free from the painful bonds of Parkinson’s Disease and is enjoying eternity with his new body. Run Daddy.

I am thankful that the good Lord used me as his instrument to pull the bulldog off of little Anthony so that he will have a chance to live his life. I am thankful for the doctors who not only saved Anthony’s life but my nephews also.

I am thankful for the opportunity to spend a week with my son who I haven’t seen in two years this past April. And I am thankful for the time he will be spending with me this holiday season.

I am thankful that my mother did not suffer a prolonged illness before her death. I am thankful that she has finally achieved her life long quest; to be in the presence of her precious Lord.

I am thankful that God saw fit for me to be the one holding my parents when they crossed over into His Glory and not some stranger in a nursing home or hospital. I am thankful for the opportunity to live and die in these beautiful mountains.

I read a paper that was referenced me by one of my in-laws that said that the human brain is hard wired for the negative. I tend to agree with that. But if we take the time and make a conscious effort to examine each situation as it stands alone we are able to find the positive.

Cumulatively this year has been filled with death, pain, and grief. Individually this year has been filled with miracles, freedom, reunions and glory….And I am thankful for that.

This entry was posted in death and dying, end of life care giving, family, life, religion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Giving Thanks

  1. Marie Taylor says:

    well said. we are all blessed more than we realize.

  2. Terry says:

    I used to wonder how I came to meet you and after reading your post tonight it was that poor child who got mauled by the dog that held me close to your blog. I love your attitude tonight. I sometimes get so tired of this terrible illness of Al’s that I have to search for the good things, and I always find at least one per day. Hugs to you my dear friend

  3. You make me smile Terry …:) I know that what you are going through right now is so difficult and taxing…emotionally and physically. But the journey that you are taking with Al right now is the most precious and profound expression of love that one human being can show to another. Know that you are not alone….Hugs back at ya

  4. This one made me teary, Ed.

    You truly do inspire me to keep fighting the good fight, and never give in to the darkness.

    Apart from the sentiment expressed in this post, it was perfectly written.

    Enjoy Trey’s visit! xx

    • There is no one I can think of that deserves to be happy more than you Bri. We are the only ones that can be responsible for our own happiness. You KEEP fighting that fight and the darkness will dissipate ever so slowly and you will one day soon feel the warmth of the sun…a new day. Like Percy Sledge said, “Even a blind man can tell when he’s standing in the sun”

      • Oh, I’m well and truly standing in the sun these days 🙂

        I just really appreciate your heartfelt desire to find the good amongst the bad and the sad in what has had to have been one of the hardest years of your life.

        You’re a good, kind, joyous man, and I feel so lucky that we ran into each other on the internet. Your presence in my life has been a warm balm, and your friendship is something that I am truly thankful for.

  5. Teeny Bikini says:

    Wow. I appreciate your ability to see the best. That is a gift. Truly. Hugs.

  6. regina says:

    Oh my Eddie. oh my. I am humbled to read your words.

  7. I am so humbled that you are reading them. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

