Sunday Morning

Image

Sunday mornings seem to carry a certain aura for me. I don’t know why, or how, they just do. The world seems to be at peace with itself on Sunday morning. Some of it is for obvious reasons. There is not as much traffic noise because most of the people do not have to work. But it goes beyond that to me.

The geese seem content. There is not the raucous ” laughter ” of the ducks. I don’t here the dogs barking up on the mountain. Even the wind seems to take the day off. The screech of the hawk doesn’t greet me when I walk out the door and the caw of the crow is silent.

It is similar to being in church. I feel that if I were to say a word it would be disruptive to the quiet reflection the entire world is enjoying at this moment. It is a time for thanks and the realization of how truly great He is. There is a saying around here that the reason mountain folk are so spiritual is because they are a little ” closer ” to God.

I don’t know how much truth is in that statement but what I do know is that I can’t look out my window, or walk down the street, without being in complete awe of His majesty. I hope that wherever you may live that you are blessed with the same emotion everyday…and especially on Sunday morning.

This entry was posted in life, religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday Morning

  1. Terry says:

    I always feel that way about Sundays also. So quiet, so peaceful. I really enjoy the mornings

  2. sandrabranum says:

    I think city folk forget about the quiet because of all the city noise. That could be another reason why mountain folk feel closer to God; they don’t have all those noisy distractions..

  3. Such a beautiful post.

  4. It’s great to know people who keep Sunday a time of serenity and a time to wonder at the marvels of God in our lives..

    • It’s so good to hear from you! Really I don’t know how anyone could live in these mountains ( and on that pretty little lake to boot ) and not stand in awe and reverence every day. I hope you are doing well.

Leave a Reply

