What About Love

In the wake of Valentines Day I felt the need to examine what is important in my life.

I live alone. I have no significant other. There is no one that I WANT to be with. I don’t even have a dog. Yet I feel completely fulfilled and whole. I feel complete as a person. I long for nothing or no one.

It’s not that I have a lingering bitterness or anger in anyway. I just do not feel that I need a companion or partner for what is left of my journey here on this earth. I receive all the emotional aspects of life through my work.

. I love and I feel loved at work. Even without the interactions with other people I do not feel like I am ever alone. I feel the essence of the spirits of all the people I have known and lost. I feel the spirit of the hawk and the strength of the mountains. They emanate through space and create the being that I have become.

Do I get lonely? Absolutely not.

What about giving or receiving love? Love…That’s a word that gets thrown around way to liberally yet it is such a common and daily emotion. I truly and literally love these mountains. It is a feeling that touches me to the core of my being every time I look at them.

I see love and appreciation every day in the eyes and smiles of people just when I smile at them or talk to them. I love in other places that make my spirit soar. Like an elderly couple in an embrace or exchanging a kiss. A child playing with a puppy. A goose and gander with their babies protecting them fiercely from anything that poses a threat…even from cars when they are crossing the road.

I could go on but what I am trying to say is you do not need anyone else in your life to experience love…it happens everyday …all around you. 

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What About Love

  1. You have quoted exactly how I feel. Now, I don’t feel that I am so different.

  2. Terry says:

    I always knew there was some reason I thought so highly of you from the beginning. Now I know through your post. Hugs

  3. Trish says:

    Miss you much, My Friend!

  4. Kim Sargent says:

    You found the secret! Captured it in perfection!❤

  5. It’s only a secret because we do not realize it’s there… around us and within us. I’m SO glad you are reading this. We share some of the same scars.

Leave a Reply

