Leaving Alzheimer’s Behind

I wish I had the chance to know you, but you were already trapped inside.

I wish that just once, I could have seen the color of your eyes.

I wish I could have made you laugh, maybe even sing.

I wish you could have told me about your life

and the man that gave you that ring.

I believe that you can hear me, though you can not talk.

I believe you know I moved you towards the sun

because you can no longer walk.

Did you like to dance? Was your life hard?

Did you look forward to the holidays?

Did children play in your yard?

So many things to talk about but the answers you can not find

they are no longer there, inside that ravaged mind.

I hope that you could tell that you were not alone

that I was here with you when Jesus took you home

and I can only smile while I watch you take your last breath

because I know you now know everything

in the moment of your death.

See ya later

Eddie

 

This entry was posted in death and dying, end of life care giving, poems, religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Leaving Alzheimer’s Behind

  1. Marie Taylor says:

    a beautiful letter of goodbye.

    • It was a special moment. I was lucky to be there. I am starting to see a pattern forming here of me being with people when they make that journey. I feel so blessed to have that honor and I hope that it makes a difference to the folks making that journey….it makes a difference in my life that’s for sure.

  2. Irene Locke says:

    Beautiful. I love you

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. sally1137 says:

    Bless your heart Eddie. You’re a special person. My mom, age 93 died last Tuesday. She went quickly–didn’t even press her lifeline button. Got up, was headed for the toaster to make breakfast and just went. Sad we weren’t there with her, but I’m pretty sure she went exactly as she wanted. Still living in her home, still with a sharp mind.

  4. Sally I am so sorry to here about your mom. I know how much you loved her because we had talked about her and her remarkable independence in the past. I am happy for her in many ways, though, as I am sure that you are also.

  5. Terry says:

    This is so sad and yet so beautiful. I just hate that disease. I have taken care of many patients with it. For me, my brother does not have it but is trapped inside a body, a shell but can not come out with any movements

    • It is a terrible disease Terry and it seems so prevalent. I wrote this for a lady that passed away at the nursing home recently. This disease touches so many peoples lives. I hope you are doing well.

      • Terry says:

        I am hanging in here. I will be glad though when Al finds his peace in heaven. He is suffering more now than he used to at these last days of his life

  6. Lila says:

    A beautifully written farewell. Very tender and loving. I’m sorry for your loss, but no one is lost to God.

    • Thank you so much. It was written about a resident at the nursing home where I work. I really didn’t know her but I consider myself fortunate and honored to be able to share that most precious moment with her.

      • Lila says:

        ..smiles.. It certainly is a special moment. It’s wonderful that you can still honor that moment shared even when strangers or mere acquaintances.

  7. A beautiful tribute, very gentle but meaningful. God Bless You.

Leave a Reply

