Together

We have several husband and wife couples at the facility where I work. I work at a nursing home. It is the most rewarding and gratifying task I have ever performed. To have the opportunity to restore dignity and self esteem to these people is an honor and a privilege I do not take lightly. But I would like to tell you about one couple in particular.

The husband was a big man. A “mans man ” some might say. He was retired military and a veteran of the Korean war. Regardless of the care we had to give him, and some of it was very painful, we never left his room without him whispering in a weak, hoarse voice…thank you Eddie.

His wife was equally gracious. I assisted her to bed one night and told her she was light on her feet, like a dancer. She smiled and said that dancing was one of her and her husbands favorite things. I imagined they were a striking couple. Both tall with beautiful smiles and quiet, unassuming, yet overwhelming personalities.

The husband died this past Saturday. The wife just a few hours later.

I can not help but smile when I think about them. I imagine that while the wife was taking her last breath the husband was standing right there over the bed with his hand out, pulling her out of the bed and her tired body into an embrace that they both have been waiting to share for a long time.

I imagine she laid her head on his chest and smiled while he spun her round and round the way he did so many years ago. I wonder if they were announced when they walked into heaven hand in hand as Mr and Mrs…

And I feel like I can almost hear him as they walk away, looking back over his shoulder with his arm around his young beautiful wife, say in a strong but tender voice…Thank you Eddie…

You’re so very welcome friend.

This entry was posted in end of life care giving. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Together

  1. sally1137 says:

    God bless you.

  2. Thank God you are in the profession you have chosen. You are one in a million and every senior care provider in the world would be privileged to have you. You are such a talented, loving person and an incredible writer. Thank you for sharing your beautiful stories with the world. I am so very, very proud of you.

  3. Ain says:

    I have never commented on your writings although I have enjoyed them over the years. This is the most beautiful image you have ever painted in words. Having been in healthcare for 36 years I truly believe God chooses certain people to love, coach and minister to others as they journey through their final days. You are truly gifted in the delivery of that care and equally as gifted in helping the caregivers and families heal by sharing your experiences . Thank you for answering the call. God Bless You.

  4. Sunny says:

    All I can say is Thank You Eddie, for sharing this beautiful story with us.

  5. Gayle says:

    You are amazing! God is using you in such a special way……Thank you for all you do for those you love…and serve.

  6. Eddie, I do hope you are still around for me. I would not feel as comfortable with anyone, as I would you

  7. This story and the visual impression it creates is extremely moving and spiritual. I would just that in addition to thanks he would been likely to add it’s been an honor to know you. That is truly how I and others who have had the pleasure to get to know the author (Eddie) feel.

  8. Tina Shaheen says:

    Eddie,
    That was so touching. Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful story!
    Tina

  9. David says:

    Eddie, Every minister has a calling. I truly believe you are performing ministerial work with these beautiful people and this is truly your calling. A caregiver’s role is not only to serve and wait on people who so deserve it, but you provide dignity, respect and more importantly love during their golden years. Thank you so much for following your heart and your calling!

    • David, to be honest, there was a time when I would have told you that you were mistaken. Read the post EBB AND FLOW that I wrote in November of 2012 about a month before Tata died. However, there was a void in my life after he and Mom died that I did not understand until I got up here in the mountains. Between the pastoral setting that I live in and the relentless insistence of my two sisters I came to accept what several people already knew. Thank you for reading and following my life through my writing. It means an awful lot to me.

  10. Veronica jones says:

    Eddie how beautiful . I have gone over and over when we sold our home on Forest Hill. Mother died ten yrs before dad. Dad moved out of the house eight yrs later , it about kill Margaret and myself it was so hard that for two Thanksgiving we would go by the house and take good to the people who brought our home they had eight kids, we walked in and there were the kids shoes sitting just where we kept ours . I cried and so did dad when we left . The people end up selling the home. So I went knocked on the door and met the new owners it was heart breaking to see how the house wasn’t take care of, the yard we use to have to cut with a
    Pushing mower had died All the hard work dad had done to it broke my heart. After that day I never went over there. We lost dad two yrs ago he lived in a apt that what he wanted we took him to Margaret’s when he had his last fall , my son Trent stayed with us and got dad in and out of the bed for four days he was the only one out of 25 grandchildren that was Able to handle it. Margaret son James watch his dad die there so he couldn’t watch his granddad die. When dad took his last breath I was with him Trent my son was sleeping Margaret was at mass he died peacefully . I miss both my parents so much and thankful for all they did for me. I loved ready all you wrote and hope all is well with you . Peace be with you, Veronica Jones

    • It has to be hard going back. I haven’t been back to Macon since we sold the house. I know it will be mixed emotions. Your parents were fine people and I know they are missed. It is a special gift to be with someone when they cross over. I hope you see it that way. I have been with several people when they take their last breath and each time I feel the presence of the Lord in the room. It may be the closest I ever get to Him, I don’t know, but I feel blessed because not only has the person passing, but the Lord also, has chosen me to be the one with them at that most important and personal time.
      And may peace be with you Veronica. Eddie

Leave a Reply

