Reflection

Patience is stretched thin
With all their wants and needs.
It’s time to get them up again
Sit them down, begin the feed

Their rooms are always hot
Sometimes it’s hard to breathe.
Glancing at the clock a lot
It’s almost time to leave.

Getting home at midnight
To enjoy some needed rest
Fall asleep in the chair,
Head nodding on my chest.

I wake in the middle of the night
My back is stiff and bent.
I shuffle to the bathroom light
My energy is spent

My eyes are weak and blurred
I lean closer so I can see.
A scream that can’t be heard
An old man in the mirror…staring back at me

( We should never forget…Your road may lead you here )

This entry was posted in Elder care, end of life care giving, poems. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reflection

  1. Irene Locke says:

    How beautiful and hard and rewarding job you have. I think of you so often. You were worn out on the 5th. I love my birdhouse as you see it reminds me of you doing God’s work when your patients needs love that you so freely give to each and everyone

    I love you dearly Sis

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • I truly feel like this is where I am supposed to be right now. It is a blessing, a privilege, and an honor to be a part of these wonderful peoples lives at this juncture of their journey.

  2. I love y’all so much. I’m going to try and drive down for a couple of hours Saturday or Sunday.
    Grape leaves?

  3. Terry says:

    this is excellent. The way you described real feelings is done well

Leave a Reply

