The Begger (The first part of an ongoing tale )

Head down, braced against the wind and the cold, I tried to make my way up the sidewalk to my office door. Holding my briefcase in one hand and the hat on my head with the other I finally reached the alcove that gave me some harbor.

I shook off the snow and the cold and was turning to open the door when he stepped in with me. I was startled with his appearance. His hair was matted. His coat was threadbare and tattered and he smelled awful. I quickly opened the door and hurried in but not before I could hear him say ” Sir I’m cold.”

The door closed behind me and I was immediately feeling warm and secure from the wind and the vagabond that had harassed me. Passing the information desk I told the security guard about the man hanging around the door and went on about my day.

This entry was posted in end of life care giving. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

