High Anxiety

Next Monday I will be going to California to visit my son for a week. I can not begin to tell you how high my already high anxiety is going to be.

I guess the first point of anxiety is will my mother be taken care of while I’m gone. My sisters told me they have it handled but I do not for the life of me see how they are going to manage. They both have busy lives and careers and all they’ve told me is they have it covered. But honestly to be able to relax I would like to know how they propose to do it.

There is the fact that I will be able to spend some quality time with my son. He has been in California for two years and the only time I have been able to see him was for three days when he came into town for my fathers funeral. Needless to say that was not a good time.

Then there is the fact that I have never been to California. I am so excited to ride the Pacific Coast Highway. Also my sons birthday will happen while I am there! Mine is one week to the day later. So it will be a happy birthday for both of us. If I had to say what my best birthday gift ever it would be the gift that God gave me when my son was just seven days old.

Lastly, the next point of anxiety is the flight. Not the being in the air part but everything else. I’ll be flying out of Hartsfield International in Atlanta. The busiest airport in the entire world. That’s just great. Let me see….How difficult do you think it will be for a long hair male of Middle Eastern descent with an Arabic last name be to get on a plane after what happened in Boston?

I have not traveled much on commercial flights. I’ve been to Wyoming and back and Texas and back. I was going to go to a Notre Dame game with my brother and his brother in law. The game was to be played October 13….thirty two days after 9-11. Needless to say we decided that was not the proper time for three Middle Eastern men to try and board an aircraft together. To be honest if they had let us on the plane I myself would be worried. If they let us on the plane then who the hell else did they let on the plane?!

One more thing has my anxiety up. I have taken off in fifty-three aircraft. Planes and helicopters. I have only landed in four of them! That’s the part that bothers me about flying the most. It is mind boggling how all this tonnage is expected to descend gracefully out of the heavens. Really? No thank you. Just slow down to about a hundred and twenty knots. give me a parachute, and I will be the first one on the ground.

Aside | This entry was posted in family, humor, life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to High Anxiety

  1. Safe travels my friend. Enjoy time with your family. How are you?

  2. I suggest contacting your Dr. for a very very mild dose of Valium, that is the only way this white knuckle flyer can go. Have a wonderful visit, don’t worry over your mom she will be taken care of…you know they don’t want you coming back and finding out they didn’t take proper care of her. LOL Be blessed my friend and enjoy..Prayers for all!

    • Well Miss Len I actually have some that the VA has given me. I usually just take one in the evenings but I think you might have hit on something! God bless you ma’am I always look forward to your prayers. Be blessed and stay well.

  3. sounds like you have a rich, full life. I pray that God is your co-pilot. Blessings!

  4. terry1954 says:

    have a great time with your son and if I forget, Happy Birthday. Mine is this Sunday. About the whole ball of wax with the flight, pray, pray,pray and God will take care of you………hugs

  5. sally1137 says:

    Have a good trip! I’m not crazy about airplane travel, mainly because of the TSA. I’ll drive whenever possible. 🙂

  6. Zen Doe says:

    I hear you about the anxiety. But Len is right. A little valium will smooth over the anxiety. You know, one thing that I always found extremely helpful is this: When you’re in a situation where you’re frightened or anxious, (for me, this is hospitals – I go off the charts) recognize that you’re not the only one. Somewhere on that airplane will be someone who is probably more freaked out than you are. Now, here’s the trick – pray like mad for THAT person. You don’t have to know who it is.

    You’ll be fine. Your mom will be fine. It’s going to be wonderful to see your son. Hope you’ll let us know how it goes!

  7. kim sargent says:

    Ha! This one tickles me! Mr. Deeb! Oviously it went well!!❤

Leave a Reply

