Standing At The Altar

Yesterday my two sisters drove up from Macon to visit me in Blairsville. A round trip of 500 miles just to spend a night and a day with me in the mountains. We sat around last night reminiscing over the past eight years journey that we and our parents have made. We laughed a lot and cried a little but sharing the warmth of the fire and the interwoven experiences of siblings kept the twenty-five degree mountain night at bay.

This morning I wanted them to experience what I have for the last three mornings. We bundled up and went outside to watch the birth of a new day. The geese were taking flight, the beating of their wings splashing in the water until just their tips would touch before taking full flight and barely clearing the tree line on the far side of the lake. They flew directly into the sunrise until they rose above the silhouette of the mountains in the background.

The sun began to crest the peaks and spray it’s glorious light through the branches, Illuminating the mist with a kaleidoscope of color from the fall leaves and onto the lake below. I walked down to the water and it was then that the three of us heard it…it was the hawk. As God and my two sisters are my witness, this majestic bird landed in the top of the tallest tree by the lake.

Image

I turned with excitement and pointed at the bird…the symbol of my fathers freedom from Parkinson’s.

The bird turned to face the sun, standing tall and straight, and let the warmth of a new beginning chase the darkness of the night from his soul. So I did the same.Image

My sister took these pictures this morning and when I turned around and looked at her tears were streaming down both of our faces. I don’t know what she was thinking but I know I was thinking ,” This must be what Momma and Daddy saw!! This is the Altar  of God! This is His church that He built. Not of mortar and stone but of the beauty of life that He created.

I don’t care what religion you practice or if you don’t practice at all…THIS is paradise.

 

This entry was posted in end of life care giving, life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Standing At The Altar

  1. Missy says:

    Fabulous Edward. I can just feel Tata & Nana’s love showered over all of us. They will always be there watching over you. That place was their paradise for sure.

    • You know I have been a very bad boy at certain times in my life. Now that I know what heaven looks like I would certainly like to make the final cut. After all I’ve told lots of friends and family that have already made the trip that ” I would see them later!” I Never say GOOD BYE at a funeral.

  2. Jo Ann says:

    Eddie, Mary Ellen tipped off The Sisters to read this one. So glad–I was there with you and yours, and it was magnificient! This past week I read something inspiriing about “taking in the good” and you have reminded me of that. Here’s the link: http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2013/10/how-to-build-a-happier-brain/280752/ Warmly, Jo Ann

    • Wow! That was some kind of article! I do believe that we are hardwire to the negative and for some of us it can be very difficult to overcome that side. I believe though that we are each solely responsible for our own happiness. A spouse . nor a job, nor any other external stimuli can make us truly and profoundly happy. That is something only we can do for ourselves. Thank you so much for reading!

  3. Marie Taylor says:

    what a great beginning to the new chapter!

  4. Terry says:

    I loved your post. Straight from the heart from the beauty of the earth

  5. I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

    BEHOLD THE DAWN!!! Very cool picture! Love it!

  6. What a beautiful beginning in the new chapter of your life. Am so glad that you are able to live on
    such a beautiful piece of God’s Earth. The post was absolutely elegant and so touching

  7. John Locke says:

    God bless you on your new beginning. I love you and all your family. JL

    Sent from my iPhone

    • I can’t wait to see you and Irene again. I am so proud that you left me a comment! I just broke the seal on the last bottle of Crown that you gave me. This swallow is for you….AHHHHHH!!!! 🙂

  8. This made me smile so much, Ed.
    xx

    • Oh wow! Thank you… I need to talk to you about some info on speech therapy if you don’t mind. If you call my number is 478-747-0202. Thanks again for reading and leaving a comment. It means a lot.

  9. Wow! I know what you mean about the hawks blessing an event like at a pow wow or a medicine circle. Can’t wait to see you all at the Christmas get together.

  10. sandrabranum says:

    What a beautiful post. It definitely sounds like God was talking that morning.

  11. regina says:

    YES.** Words of wonder.**

Leave a Reply

