Victory!

Two years ago today my father defeated Parkinson’s disease. There may be no cure for this horrible affliction but it can be beaten. My father, Tata, was diagnosed when he was fifty-six years old. That is my age. For a man who took such pride in his physical prowess and appearance this news should have been devastating. Instead he took as a direct challenge.

His response when people expressed their sympathy was almost flippant. ” Everybody has something. I have Parkinson’s “. For twenty six years he did battle with a disease that tried, but could not, take away his spirit. He taught anyone who met him just what the words dignity, grace, perseverance, and willpower meant. He was the embodiment of the word gentleman.

The marathon runner fought for twenty-six years and on this day two years ago he won.

This entry was posted in end of life care giving. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Victory!

  1. regina says:

    Ahhh Eddie. Your Father was a very brave man. You have honored him with this wonderful story of a life well lived.**

  2. richard jones says:

    Eddie, You are so right, I did not know Tata without Parkinson’s but he set a Great example for us to live by. I have never seen a Man like Tata so dedicated to living a normal life without ever complaining and such a Great positive attitude. I hope that we all try to follow his example and live our life like Tata.

    • Richard that couldn’t have been said any better. I will never forget ALL that you did for him. You went above and beyond what any in-law would have been expected to do. I will never forget the love and kindness you showed for him. Thank you.

  3. lisadarn says:

    “whatwereyathinkin” is not how your Tata would have said it. . . ❤

    • No you are right. His patented reply was “What…in…the HELL were you thinking!!!?

      • Ain says:

        So well put, but the last eight years of his life would have not been filled with so much joy without the 24 hour a day care of his loving wife and devoted son. Eddie you honored him in his life and are still honoring him. Daddy was a great teacher yet a man of few words. By the nature of this debilitating, dehumanizing disease, he taught you the meaning of finding true joy in what you are called to do. Imagine your life had you not answered the call to come home to learn how to care for someone with a progressive disease, you would not experience the joy that you are now living. Daddy is proud of you.

  4. Fred Bruder says:

    Eddie, I never met your father, but I can see the influence he had on you when I see you working with those you care for at UCNH. There is empathy as well as dignity in your inactions.

  5. This is so true. I owe him so much

  6. sandrabranum says:

    Sounds like Mom with her blindness. Now I journey down the same road and pray I can be as brave as she.

  7. kim sargent says:

    I’m proud that you were there for him! Well done…you will see him n your mom again! They live on thru you now while you carry on life and its journey! Each chapter is what you make it!!❤

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.